An awesomely autumnal feast

I bring you two warming recipes which are very easy to prepare and make a delicious duo after a colourful autumn walk in the woods, surrounded by gorgeous coloured leaves, fresh air and nature. I’m making this sound all very romantic, but my reality was a tad different due to me falling arse over tit in the mud! Still, it gave my friends a laugh!
IMG_3894.JPG
Roasted squash and chestnut soup
You can really use whatever squash type you fancy and I’m sure it would be lovely – I used a munchkin pumpkin. I only used one of the two pictured because, if I’m being perfectly honest, you have to be quite forceful and have a good knife to chop squashes and I was knackered after a day of laying around in the mud. One was enough, luckily.

I chopped the pumpkin into small pieces, drizzled with a little olive oil and roasted it at around 200 degrees (400 or gas mark 6) for about 15 mins.

IMG_3907.JPG
Next I put the chestnuts (vac-packed ones, but you could use tinned) in the oven too, drizzled with garlic oil.

Once both chestnuts and squash have started to brown, probably around another 15 mins, plonk them in your shop bought or home made veg stock and whizz it up in a blender, or in the pan with a hand held blender. Make sure the stock has plenty of herbs and seasoning and add more to taste as you cook it.

The amount of stock depends on how thick you want the soup. I had a litre and found when I whizzed it all up, it was way too thin. So you could start with 1/2 litre, blend up the ingredients and add a little more stock until it’s the thickness you desire.

As it was too late for me, I was lucky enough to find some pre-cooked potatoes in my fridge which I blended in – thickened up a treat! You could also cook up some red split lentils until they are fluffy, they’d do the job just as good.

I found it was delicious with a drizzle of soy sauce on the top and my partner went for Tabasco! Coooor!

IMG_3918.JPG
Pumpkin pie

This recipe was directly taken from the Vegetarian Times website and was very simple. I guess, if you had less time you could go for shop bought shortcrust pastry for the base, but the wholemeal flour used in this recipe does taste amazing with the pumpkin filling.

IMG_3896.JPG
This was my first attempt at pumpkin pie, which I made because I had a tin of puréed pumpkin that I didn’t know what to do with! I was definitely happy with the result. The filling is quite creamy and smooth and I topped off with a sprinkle of cocoa. I think icing sugar would be nice too.

Great days are definitely improved even further with great food, and the squash themed grub certainly did it’s job. The coolest thing we discovered trying these new recipes…princess fairies love pumpkin pie!

IMG_3899.JPG

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

