Something fishy’s going on

Like lots of people who decide to stop eating animal products, mine was an incremental step towards veganism, including a stop along the way at pescitarianism. I stopped eating fish around 5 years ago and, to be honest, it never grossed me out as much a fatty and on-the-bone mammal meat did. (It does now obviously, because I only like fishies to be swimming around!)

Baked with herbs on a tomato and bean bed with cous cous
Baked with herbs on a tomato and bean bed with cous cous     
So as someone who used to like a fishy flavour, or ‘taste of the sea’ as I now like to call it, finding this ‘fish’ was an extremely joyous occasion. I had it in an ‘ocean burger’ at a Loving Hut restaurant (Note this is an international restaurant!). It was battered in a burger with mayo and I nearly cried from happiness. Don’t laugh, food affects my emotions greatly!

Fisherman's pie - without the hooks or nets!
Fisherman’s pie – without the hooks or nets!
Since then, a friend has been able to supply me with this brilliant fish substitute from her local Chinese supermarket in South London. At £2.30 a pack it’s an incredible bargain. I have since found that it can be fried, baked, used for fish pie and even covered in breadcrumbs to make fish fingers.

Fish finger sandwich
Fish finger sandwich

The soya protein based slab of ‘fish’ is covered with a layer of seaweed. It is this that gives the delicious sea flavour.

Fish baked with pesto and bread crumbs on the top. Just delicious!
Fish baked with pesto and bread crumbs on the top. Just delicious!
I only hope that, after reading this and making your mouth water, the freezer at your local Chinese supermarket stocks this delightful product. If not, have no fear, as I will try to recreate the fish using seaweed sheets and tofu. If all goes well I’ll hopefully bring you a recipe in the near future. It’s the least I can do for those of you who do not have a friend who brings you stacks of this versatile and delicious fin and cruelty free fish.

photo 2 (4)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sun says:

    Interesting! I’d have to look if my local Asian market carries it. Looks yum!

    Like

    1. Do it! And let me and the other readers know where if you find some! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

