Chrissie’s greedy Christmas!

For many people, Christmas is full of food, drink, treats and fun! And it doesn’t need to be any different if you are doing it cruelty free. I’m going to give a full blow-by-blow account of my vegan Christmas day. So get on your elasticated trousers because you are going to feel full to the brim just looking at it.

Breakfast

A naughty breakfast kicked off the day, after opening Santa sacks of course! My mainly veggie folks shared Vbites Cheating Rasher sandwich with me. In fact my nan asked where my mum got the bacon, not realising it was veggie! I added some vegan omelette and tomato ketchup for the ultimate indulgent breakfast. We washed it all down with a glass of bucks fizz – using Lambrini sparkly wine, which is vegan, and orange juice.

IMG_0033IMG_0037

The cooking started with a little help from our bubbly friend!

IMG_0040
Nanny couldn’t wait to get some bubbly down her gob!
IMG_0039
Lanson is vegan friendly!

IMG_0048Christmas dinner

Starters was a simple twist on the traditional prawn cocktail. I replaced the prawns with avocado and made a Marie Rose sauce with eggless mayo, tomato sauce and a squirt of lemon juice. It was seasoned to taste and served on top of lettuce and top with tomatoes. AMAZING!

 IMG_0049

For mains I bagged myself a full roast dinner with all the veg trimmings and a Vbites turkey roast. Head chef, aka mum, made me my very own yorkshire pudding from 100g self raising flour, a tablespoon of oil and enough soya milk to make it into a batter. The other delicious chaps to join my plate were tender stem broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, roast parsnips, roast shallots, stuffing balls and roast potatoes (no goose fat in this house!) all covered in lashings of vegan friendly gravy. I can’t resist mint sauce, English mustard and coarse grain mustard. I’m a condiment beast!

IMG_0052

We thought we might struggle to fit in a dessert but after a nap and a cup of tea, we all attempted it. We were brave and managed to shovel down Christmas pudding (shop bought) and custard made with soya milk. Delicious. Later in the afternoon I also squeezed in a few chocolates

IMG_0072IMG_0068

Evening tea

Tea couldn’t happen until about 10pm because of the epic amount of food already consumed, but it was worth waiting for room in our tummies to clear. Having done enough cooking for the day, we went for the easy option of a ready made “party pack”, from Vbites, who pretty much sponsored my Christmas. This included samosas, spring rolls, mini quiche and pizza and sausage and cranberry rolls.

IMG_0077 IMG_0082

There was MORE cake…mince pies home made by mum and my (almost) world famous Black Forest Gateau. I have a feeling these will take a few more days to polish off. Phew!

IMG_0019 IMG_0021 IMG_0024

Stages of the Black Forest Gateau construction!

IMG_0093 IMG_0091

IMG_0076
Mum’s mince pies

So my friends, THAT is how you have a compassionate Christmas. What do you think? Did I miss out?!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

